Come and read Our Mutual Friend with us!

Birkbeck Forum for Nineteenth-Century Studies

Wednesday 28 January 2015, 6.00–8.00pm

Keynes Library (room 114), Birkbeck School of Arts, 43 Gordon Square, WC1.

The first event of the spring term for the Birkbeck Forum for Nineteenth-Century Studies will feature Professor Michael Slater (Birkbeck, University of London) and Holly Furneaux (University of Leicester) discussing the latest instalment of Our Mutual Friend, as part of Birkbeck’s serial reading project. The January 1865 instalment of the novel can be read here, and more information on the reading project can be found here. This event will also feature a reading from Michael Slater.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Charles Dickens, Our Mutual Friend

2 responses to “Come and read Our Mutual Friend with us!

  1. Andi

    Oh my…a previous commenter lamented her lack of a teleporter, and I am also feeling the want of such a device! That pesky Atlantic Ocean is in the way or I’d be there in a heartbeat for the 28th.

    I have not commented previously, but want to say how incredibly much I am loving this project! I am a lifelong Dickens fan(atic), have read OMF before of course, but not like this.

    I played catch-up for the first few installments after I stumbled upon the Reading Project blog, and am now reading along with everyone using the digitalized original numbers—studying the wonderful advertisements, laughing over the creative storyline Tweets, and amazed to be tagging along on such an adventure as this.

    I have eagerly read and very much enjoyed every guest post, each illuminating an aspect of OMF that I would never have thought of on my own.

    This is such a wonderful undertaking….just want to let you know I’m out here appreciating all of it!

    Andrea in Pennsylvania, USA

    Like

    • Ben Winyard

      That’s wonderful, Andrea! Thank you so much for joining us on our reading adventure and for these kind words. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the experience.

      Like

Leave a Reply

